5 Reasons I Won’t Complete NaNoWriMo This Year

During the last two years, I’ve ranked victorious in the realm of #NaNoWriMo. The first year, I finished an entire week early. Last year, I finished a couple of days early.

This year, however, I started, carried through the first week, and haven’t added to that novel since then. Now there are only 10 days left. If left undisturbed, I could probably pump out the remaining 40,000 words. But I don’t live in a self-sustaining bubble.

1. Work: The day job. I’ve been busy, stressed, preoccupied, and otherwise uninspired by the day job, except to create a comic strip character inspired by the daily grind. She’ll be appearing on my Tumblr account from time-to-time.

2. October: I succeeded in writing a poem for each day of the month, solid, meaningful poems requiring inspiration and creativity. I’ve used up the batch.

3. Cross-Stitch: Influenced by my sister, I’ve created a few subversive cross-stitch patterns and begun the stitchwork on the first pattern.

4. Hulu and Netflix: I’ve been binge-watching Elementary, Defiance, and Doctor Who. It’s hard to write and watch at the same time.

5. Insomnia: Functioning with less sleep requires me to give up some things during the day. Since there are several more obligatory tasks (day job, shuttling kids, feeding the family), writing has dropped to the bottom of the list.

That isn’t to say I haven’t gotten any writing done. I will probably still write close to 50,000 words worth of creativity this month, just not all on the same novel. I’ve added scenes to a work already in progress, started a poetry/art book project, and I’m reading more books to review. But the #NaNoWriMo project is on the back burner for now.

Good luck to everyone who continues the challenge, and I’ll see you next year.

Leave a Reply

