#OctPoWriMo 9 – Aquamarine

An ocean mosaic washes across the floor
Quickly I step by on my way to the tower
Up in the elevator I travel, anguish rising
Almost there, I bury a breath, steady
Myself against the tinge of disinfectant
And the auditory assault of medical machines
Rendering care at the doctor’s discretion
I am afraid, I am hopeful, I am worried
No one should have to endure this
Everywhere – the walls, the curtains, the scrubs – is aquamarine

Whale Mosaic

*~*~*~*

Notes: October is always a difficult month of memories. Aquamarine is the dominating color decorating the children’s hospital that I spent a great deal of time in six years ago.

 

One thought on “#OctPoWriMo 9 – Aquamarine

  1. Powerful poetry.. a very well executed acrostic..clear and sensible. The mood of the poem changes seamlessly towards the end of the poem.
    Sorry that October brings you bad memories.. hope you can find some peace with time.

Leave a Reply

