Filling Boredom with Art

I once explained to another woman that boredom is not synonymous with having no work to do. Not all work is challenging. Some work is mind-numbing and BORING.

Creative people don’t handle boredom well. It drives us crazy. We need to fill our minutes with something interesting and stimulating. We hate doing boring work. We understand that with only so much time in a day and in our lives all together, we are wasting valuable energy on boringness.

Logically, I also understand the boring work has to get done somehow by someone, and sometimes that’s me.

But I need a break from boring. I need to wake up my brain to prevent mid-day drowsiness. So I draw. It’s quiet, it’s creative, and it helps the day flow a little faster. And when I share it with a co-worker, the art brightens their day.

 

FullSizeRender
WIP August 25, 2015

 

2015-08-20 14.22.29
August 21, 2015
2015-08-24 14.33.32
August 24, 2015
Leave a Reply

