#NaPoWriMo #2 – Slot Machines

Honestly, I wrote this poem years ago. I had never even used a slot machine or seen one except on TV. I ran across it in my paper archives.  I’ve been to Vegas, and I’ve seen the hollowed-out faces of gamblers hoping to hit the jackpot. You can tell who is out to have fun and enjoy the expense, and who is aching to win their rent.

#2

Slot machines
Eat you alive
Tiny little mouths
One round piece at a time
They tease you by giving little pieces back
But it just keeps gnawing
Consuming you
Until your whole being is gone

Leave a Reply

