November 1 – NaNoWriMo Begins

Today marks my 100th Post!!

I am waking up this morning eager to get started on my first draft of this year’s 2014 NaNoWriMo submission. I already have a lot of phrases worked out in my head, and it’s just a matter of capturing them on the screen before they disappear into the chaos of normal life.  Last year’s attempt was a complete success – in fact I finished 50,000 words over a week before the deadline, and I even started late! (You are welcome to hate me for that, but I’m going to gloat.) That push has been fleshed out in to a novel that will be published early in 2015.Bee and Sydney

This year, I’ve chosen to finally write the tale of Sydney, our infant daughter born with CHD (Congenital Heart Defect) and her brief existence in this world. It’s been over 5 years now, and I’ve been wanting to get this down on paper all this time. There were many obstacles, mostly emotional, to making this happen. There seems to be something different this year in the way I feel about it, in the way I relate to the experience. I know there must be a threshold where the trauma of the events fades away to allow for a much more logical and distant review. That threshold is different depending upon the circumstances. With my parents, it took little time before I was past the loss. They were both elderly and their deaths expected. With Sydney, the wounds of sorrow cut deeply and stretched wide, making them more difficult to heal.

I look forward to pushing through with 50,000 words of the how, why, who, what and where that will let Sydney’s and our family’s story be heard and understood by many.

 

 

+++++

It’s not too late to join NaNoWriMo 2014.  Sign up and start writing. Add me as a Writing Buddy (Writerbee) and I’ll be there to cheer you on.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

 

 

2 thoughts on “November 1 – NaNoWriMo Begins

Leave a Reply

