Diary of a Writerbee

Musings of Author Elizabeth N. Love

Oh, Blue Planet

I thought Mars would be more like home. I’m not certain why, exactly. I just did. Maybe it was the dry red soil, just like we have at home. Maybe it was the washed-out blue sky. I understood the academics of going to this desolate world, but it never really struck me that this place would be so different. The air isn’t breathable on it’s own. The atmosphere is too thin to protect us from every meteorite, and getting a sunburn here is certain death. There is no going outside unprotected, no even just to catch a breath of fresh air.

Mars landscapeThe new gravity was less of a problem than I thought.  After spending the last few years in microgravity, keeping up muscle mass by resistance training, but otherwise floating freely inside the vessel, landing in a partial gee didn’t feel so bad. It would have felt even stranger to come from a full gee to only 38%. I was definitely sore for a week, and fatigued just trying to open a packet of soup mix. I still forget that whatever I let go of won’t stay suspended in midair next to me. I’ve dented a few items dropping them on the hard floor of the eco-pod, including the dent on my foot from the comp-pad. I can still see the bruise.

I guess what I miss most about Old Blue is the rain. I can recall that sweet, earthy aroma when the gentle, cleansing rain first reaches the earth. There is that subtle chill in the air. The wind picks up, inflow into a thunderstorm, then the clouds deepen to blue-gray. That first clap of thunder is a doozy! It didn’t even rain that much where I lived. I miss the break in the weather. Mars weather consists of dust storms, deep cold, and clear blue skies.

I miss the rain.

 

+++++++++++++++

Inspired by the Daily Post Challenge

Longing for Gravity

You are on a mission to Mars. Because of the length of of the journey, you will never be able to return to Earth. What about our blue planet will you miss the most?
Leave a Reply

