Dr Who Through the Ages

I have taken it upon myself recently to find and watch all of the Doctor Who episodes.  ALL. Starting with 1963.  I remember first seeing Doctor Who in the 1980s, finding the show on PBS one evening when I was allowed to stay up late (I was around 8 years old).  Tom Baker was the Doctor at the time, with his multicolored scarf, long coat, crazy-curly hair and horrible dental work. I found his adventures fascinating, but was still too young to appreciate all of the nuances.  I later picked up watching the new Doctor in 2005, then dropped off again as life preempted regularly scheduled broadcasts. Recently it occurred to me that I was missing a good deal of information from between 1981 and 2014. So my mission has begun.

I have reached the episode of The Dead Planet, when we are first introduced to the Daleks. I appreciate the dedication in keeping so many elements nearly identical despite the decades difference in filming and special fx technology. The Daleks have yet to say the word “Exterminate.” But I’m certain they will before I reach the end of the story.

Dr Who HartnellWhile there are many hints as to the nature of the TARDIS and its original occupants, the Doctor and his granddaughter Susan Foreman, it is interesting how much of the details remain in the later versions of the show and how much I took these for granted. The TARDIS is supposed to camouflage itself depending upon where it lands, but for some unknown reason (at this point) they do not understand why the vessel has chosen to retain the facade of the Blue Police Box. The first Companions, Ian and Barbara, address the Doctor and Doctor Foreman, to which he remarks “Doctor Who? What is he talking about?”

I know this is a product of the age, but I really wish the women would stop screaming.  Every little surprise elicits a shriek of panic or a hysterical episode and this wears one down when watching several 30-minutes episodes in a row. The women always had to look so terrified and helpless, even after the 20th time they come upon something undiscovered. Thinking of myself, I would say to my fellow female companions, “Zip it and run already!”

I am looking forward to the Doctor Who journey.Dr Who Logo

6 thoughts on “Dr Who Through the Ages

  1. Looking back over almost as many years as the Doctor claims to have been alive, I remember avidly watching from the very first black & white episode and thinking how advanced it all seemed. Now, of course, it is watched only occasionally through technologically jaded (if not jaundiced) eyes.
    It is a series that allows escape from the real world into an adventurous Sci Fi world full of wonders and suspiciously cobbled together creatures, all of who seem to be intent on “getting the Humans” – Great fun – Enjoy Elizabeth 😀

    1. I think it’s the “cobbled”-ness that I find the most fascinating. No matter what the set dressings or the costumes look like, the stories are written well enough and acted so believably (with those occasional ad libs that make everything organic) that the sophistication of the the background doesn’t matter.

Leave a Reply

