I Am My Mother’s Daughter

GenevieveI am my mother’s daughter
I save glass jars from peppers and peaches
To use throughout the house for holding things
Like buttons, seeds, and leftovers.

I stay up late after the house is quiet
Finishing projects in sewing and words
Away from the darling needy children
And alone with the depths of my thoughts.

When I want to learn something
I read books about astronomy and birds
I know the knowledge will not help me at work
Or at home, but I want to know anyway.

I am my mother’s daughter because
I know there is no harm in knowing about
The world away from my own
Even if I never see it.

2 thoughts on “I Am My Mother’s Daughter

  1. Pingback: What We Learn From Our Parents | Diary of a Writerbee

Leave a Reply

